October Newsletter


From the Executive Director

We are very pleased to have concluded the acclamation vote for the 2022-2023 class of the Executive Board. Since the conclusion of the voting, the board has met and has reconstituted our standing committees. Those committees and the chairs and co-chairs are listed in this mailing. I highly recommend anyone who is interested in serving and having a voice in organizational planning to contact the chairs/co-chairs.

Our next meeting is Midwinter. The Midwinter Call for Proposals is due at the end of October. I encourage you to share this information with colleagues and graduate students who are engaging in research. Moreover, I encourage you to attend the meeting, add to the discussion, and take advantage of the many networking opportunities.

Finally, our annual awards nominations also close at the end of October. If you know someone who is deserving, please complete the nomination form.

John Decman

Welcome to the Class of 2022 Board Members!

Top Row: Sarah Morrison and Forrest Kaiser

Bottom Row: Carl Fahrenwald and Kevin Badgett


The TCPEA Executive Board recently met and established the following subcommittees for the 2022-2023 year. We strongly encourage your participation on the subcommittees. Board members who chair or co-chair the subcommittees are identified.

  • Virtual Presence (Dr. Kelly Brown and Dr. Sarah Morrison): The Virtual Presence committee is responsible for maintaining TCPEA news on various virtual platforms. If you’d like to participate, please contact either of the co-chairs (kbrown76@lamar.edu or sarah.morrison@vl.academy)
  • Programming (Dr. Felix Simieou and Dr. Sarah Morrison): The Programming committee has primary responsibility for the events that take place in our face-to-face meetings. If you’d like to participate, please contact either of the co-chairs (simieou@uhcl.edu or sarah.morrison@vl.academy)
  • Publications – Research and Dissemination (Drs. Ken Young, Carl Fahrenwald, Sarah Morrison, Kevin Badgett): The Publications committee is responsible for TCPEA efforts related to both issues of School Leadership Review, its solicitation for submissions, and its processes related to manuscript review. This committee is always seeking assistance with the review process. To review for this publication, please complete the Call for Reviewers.
  • Awards (Dr. Ken Young): As the immediate Past-President, Dr. Young is the Chair of the Awards committee. To assist Dr. Young with reviewing award nominees, please contact him at jkyoung1@lamar.edu.
  • Membership Engagement (Dr. Forrest Kaiser and Dr. Kevin Badgett): The Membership Engagement Committee (MEC) is committed to building individual and organizational capacity within the membership of TCPEA for the purpose of advancing our work as preparers of school and district leaders across the state of Texas and beyond. To advance this work in the coming year, the MEC will work with members to identify practical needs that may be addressed through collegial discourse and professional development while providing opportunities for members to lead. Understanding that TCPEA members already have a wide range of knowledge and experience, the committee seeks individuals willing to share their expertise through webinars, professional panels, and lunch & learns. The MEC will preserve videos and other resources from this work in a repository that will be accessible to members. We are seeking committee members to help with this important work. Please contact either of the committee co-chairs: Forrest Kaiser (fkaiser@uttyler.edu) or Kevin Badgett (badgett_k@utpb.edu) if you are interested in taking part.

Annual Award Nominations

Use the link below to nominate a deserving candidate for one of our annual awards.

Award Nominations Page

2023 Midwinter Conference Within a Conference Proposals

The 2023 Conference Within a Conference proposal system is open until October 30, 2022! The Theme for the conference is Dare to Lead.

Proposal Link

Become a Member Today!